Badgers legend Ron Dayne elected to College Football Hall of Fame

Ron Dayne, you don't need to say anything more to Badger fans. To most he's the pinnacle of excellence in Wisconsin football. On Tuesday his legacy was cemented for all-time as he was announced as a member of the College Football Hall of Fame. 

Dayne, the 1999 Heisman Trophy winner (the 2nd in UW history), is still the all-time leading rusher in FBS history with  6,397 yards rushing and racked up 63 touchdowns for his collegiate career. He was a three time all-American for UW as well. 

That 6,397 yards total doesn't include the over 700 yards Dayne racked up in bowl games for his career. In total Dayne rushed for 7,125 yards on 1,220 carries with 73 touchdowns as a Badger.

His rushing totals by year: 

Freshman: 2,109yds
Sophomore: 1,457yds
Junior: 1,525yds
Senior: 2,034yds

He joins two other Badgers running backs, Alan Ameche and Pat Harder, in the College Football Hall of Fame and will be officially inducted in a ceremony on Dec. 10, 2013. Overall UW has had thirteen former players and coaches named to the Hall of Fame in Barry Alvarez, Alan Ameche, Marty Barlow, Bob Butler, Pat Harder, Elroy Hirsch, Phil King, George Little (coach), Pat O'Dea, Pat Richter, Dave Schreiner, and Harry Stuhldreher.

The rest of the class of 2013 is full of names college football fans should all know and love: 

· TED BROWN – TB, North Carolina State (1975-78)
· TEDY BRUSCHI – DE, Arizona (1992-95)
· RON DAYNE – RB, Wisconsin (1996-99)
· TOMMIE FRAZIER – QB, Nebraska (1992-95)
· JERRY GRAY – DB, Texas (1981-84)
· STEVE MEILINGER* – E, Kentucky (1951-53)
· ORLANDO PACE – OT, Ohio State (1994-96)
· ROD SHOATE (deceased) – LB, Oklahoma (1972-74)
· PERCY SNOW – LB, Michigan State (1986-89)
· VINNY TESTAVERDE – QB, Miami, Fla. (1982, 1984-86)
· DON TRULL – QB, Baylor (1961-63)
· DANNY WUERFFEL – QB, Florida (1993-96)
  * Selection from the FBS Veterans Committee

· WAYNE HARDIN – 118-74-5 (61.2%); Navy (1959-64) and Temple (1970-82)
· BILL McCARTNEY – 93-55-5 (62.4%); Colorado (1982-94)

For more Badgers news, notes, and conversation make sure to follow us on Twitter @MTBadgers and 'Like' us Facebook.

Andrew Coppens

About Andrew Coppens

Andy is a member of the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). He is the Managing Editor of MadTownBadger and associate editor of Bloguin's World Cup site, as well as Publisher of Big Ten site