Jamar Fletcher headlines newest Badger Hall of Fame Class

The University of Wisconsin announced on Friday the newest members of the Wisconsin Athletics Hall of Fame and the headlining name is former Badger football great Jamar Fletcher. Overall eight new inductees will be part of the 2013 class. 

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on Friday, Aug. 30 and the class will be honored at halftime of the football season opener the next afternoon against UMass. 

Fletcher was a three time All-American at UW and won the 2000 Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's top defensive back. Joining Fletcher from the football team is David Greenwood, who was a two sport star (also track & field) from 1980-82, and earned All-Big Ten honors on the football field as well as an individual conference title in the high jump on the track. 

How it took this long to honor Claude Gregory is a bit of a mystery, as Gregory is still the Badgers all-time leader in career rebounds (904), despite all the recent success and the fact that his career ended in 1981. He is also 4th on the career scoring list, pouring in 1,745 points during his time as a Badger.

The other big name for some is that of Dean Talafous, who was the catalyst behind the Badgers 1973 NCAA tournament team, the one that won the Badgers' first national title that year. He earned tournament MVP honors and his clutch goal scoring is still something people talk about to this day. 

Here is the complete list of all members of the class of 2013: 

Jamar Fletcher (football)
David Greenwood (football/track & field)
Claude Gregory (men’s basketball)
Andrea Kirchberg (softball)
Jack Reinwand (wrestling)
Dean Talafous (men’s hockey)
Peter Tegen (women’s cross country and track & field coach)
Chuck LaBahn (special service)

For more on all things Badgers athletics make sure to follow us on Twitter @MTBadgers and Like us on Facebook.

Andrew Coppens

About Andrew Coppens

Andy is a member of the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). He is the Managing Editor of MadTownBadger and associate editor of Bloguin's World Cup site, 32flags.com as well as Publisher of Big Ten site talking10.com